Canada among countries allowed into Kenya starting Saturday, August 1

Kenya has released a guideline for the countries whose nationals will be allowed in when international flights resume on August 1, 2020.

The list of 11 countries include Canada, Switzerland, Japan, China and South Korea, from and the African countries of Zimbabwe, Ethiopia, Uganda and, Rwanda, Morocco and Namibia.

The United States, India, the UK, and other major European countries have been excluded, meaning their citizens will be allowed into Kenya when international flights resume tomorrow.

Transport Cabinet Secretary James Macharia said Kenya had developed the initial list based on the intensity of coronavirus cases in specific countries, suggesting that the list will be reviewed in the coming weeks.

“For a start, these countries that I am mentioning are in the initial list. These countries have mild or limited community transmission or they have declining incidences. These are the ones we shall be allowing passengers to come from.” said Mr Macharia.

International flights resume tomorrow after four months of being suspended to contain the spread of Covid-19, which was first recorded in Kenya in March.

Mr Macharia said passengers coming in on international flights will be exempted from mandatory quarantine.

“Passengers arriving on flights during curfew hours will be allowed to proceed to their hotels or residences as so long as they have valid boarding passes.” Mr Macharia said.

Passengers will be required to have proof of a negative Covid-19 test taken at least 96 hours earlier and should not exhibit any coronavirus symptoms.


Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this:
Skip to toolbar