Postponed: Kenya diaspora voter registration in Canada, UK and UAE

Today January 21, Kenya’s Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) commenced diaspora voter registration exercise in 18 registration centres. These are in the following Countries: United States of America, Canada, United Kingdom, Germany, United Arab Emirates, Qatar, South Sudan, Burundi, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda and South Africa.

However, the scheduled voter registration exercise did not commence as scheduled in Canada (in Ottawa, Toronto and Vancouver), the United Kingdom and United Arab Emirates.

The commission attributed this delay to COVID -19 related travel restrictions and logistical challenges.

In a press release, Commission Chairman Wafula Chebukati expressed regret for the delay, saying the commission is working with the relevant authorities in the affected countries to ensure the registration kicks off.


%d bloggers like this:
Skip to toolbar